1981 XS250 VALVE CLEARANCES (HELP)

EACRUISER
This post is 6585 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Can anyone tell me the Valve clearances for a 1981 xs 250.

I am new to the bike scene (L-plater) and the XS250 i bought is making a bit of noise from the valves.

Just wanting to make sure they are where they are supposed to be.

Most of the noise is coming from the Exhaust side of the head.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Can anyone tell me the Valve clearances for a 1981 xs 250.

I am new to the bike scene (L-plater) and the XS250 i bought is making a bit of noise from the valves.

Just wanting to make sure they are where they are supposed to be.

Most of the noise is coming from the Exhaust side of the head.

inlet 00.8 - 0.12 mm

exhaust 0.16 - 0.20 mm

drew

inlet 00.8 - 0.12 mm

exhaust 0.16 - 0.20 mm

Thankyou Drew.

I will check them tonight.

Also, to change the Spark Plug Leads do i need to take the tank off.

--> also if i need to take the tank off, where are the bolts for the tank.

I found the one under the front of the seat, but i cant find anymore and the tank doesn't want to budge.

inlet 00.8 - 0.12 mm

exhaust 0.16 - 0.20 mm

Thankyou Drew.

I will check them tonight.

Also, to change the Spark Plug Leads do i need to take the tank off.

--> also if i need to take the tank off, where are the bolts for the tank.

I found the one under the front of the seat, but i cant find anymore and the tank doesn't want to budge.

you might not be able to replace the leads, because they can be glued into the coil, depends on the model.

As for tank, one bolt at the back and "wiggle" the tank towards the back, lifting the rear of tank by couple inches. watch out as it will let go very quickly (held on with rubber "bungs" into frame) it will be easier to do the valves with the tank off.