78 250 CDI ignition

This post is 4785 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi, am a newbie here and looking for some help if possible, this will probably be the first of many questions as im new to Yamaha in general, just bought a very rough 78 250, engine / frame no 2x9000137, im trying to get it running, problem is that 90% of the wiring has been removed, can anyone assist me by advising which colour wires from the CDI magneto need to go where to enable to get a spark at the plug, i am only interested in getting the engine running, will not be fitting any lights, I assume that with this system i do not need a battery to run the engine ?

Thanks for any help, and im sure i will be back with lots more questions !

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hi, am a newbie here and looking for some help if possible, this will probably be the first of many questions as im new to Yamaha in general, just bought a very rough 78 250, engine / frame no 2x9000137, im trying to get it running, problem is that 90% of the wiring has been removed, can anyone assist me by advising which colour wires from the CDI magneto need to go where to enable to get a spark at the plug, i am only interested in getting the engine running, will not be fitting any lights, I assume that with this system i do not need a battery to run the engine ?

Thanks for any help, and im sure i will be back with lots more questions !

an intro in the noobs is the usual practice, ok it is a 78 250 but what model XS//DT/RD/TY

Merv

an intro in the noobs is the usual practice, ok it is a 78 250 but what model XS//DT/RD/TY

Merv

Hi Merv